ASTM D1218 - 12(2016)

    Стандартный метод определения показателя преломления и его дисперсии для жидких углеводородов

    Active Standard ASTM D1218 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.04.0D

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 25 $75.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.04.0D Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод испытаний распространяется на измерение показателя преломления, с точностью не менее чем до четырех десятичных знаков, для прозрачных и слегка окрашенных углеводородов в диапазоне от 1,3300 до 1,5000 при температурах от 20°C до 30°C ручным (оптико-механическим) или автоматическим (цифровым) способом.

    1.2 Ручная (оптико-механическая) процедура также распространяется на измерение дисперсии при преломлении с точностью не менее чем до четырех десятичных знаков.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Данный метод испытаний подходит для измерения коэффициента преломления жидкостей, превышающих 1,5000 и при температурах ниже 20°C и выше 30°C, однако при этом сходимость результатов может быть не применима. Проверка точности подобных измерений будет зависеть от возможности использования надежных сертифицированных эталонных стандартов, которые обоснуют приемлемость характеристик аппаратуры, используемой при заданных условиях испытаний.

    1.3 Данный метод испытаний может оказаться неприменимым к сильно окрашенным жидкостям или жидкостям, обладающим точками образования пузырьков настолько близкими к температуре испытаний, что показания не могут сниматься до момента существенной дегазации жидкости. Цвет жидкости должен ограничиваться Цветом № 4 по шкале ASTM, определяемым в соответствии с Методом испытаний D 1500.

    1.4 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.5 ПРЕДУПРЕЖДЕНИЕ — Многими контролирующими органами ртуть была названа опасным веществом, которое может вызвать повреждение центральной нервной системы, почек и печени. Ртуть или ее пары могут быть опасны для здоровья и агрессивны для материалов. Следует проявлять осторожность при обработке ртути и продукции, содержащей ртуть. Подробнее см. Лист данных по безопасности материалов (MSDS) и дополнительную информацию на сайте EPA – http://www.epa.gov/mercury/faq.htm. Пользователи должны быть осведомлены, что продажа ртути и/или продукции содержащей ртуть может быть запрещена законом в вашем штате или стране.

    1.6 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D1218 - 12

    Standard Test Method for Refractive Index and Refractive Dispersion of Hydrocarbon Liquids

    Active Standard ASTM D1218 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.04.0D

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 7 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 7 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 14 $50.40   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Refractive index and refractive dispersion are fundamental physical properties, which can be used in conjunction with other properties to characterize pure hydrocarbons and their mixtures.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the measurement of refractive index, accurate to four decimal places or better, of transparent and light-colored hydrocarbons in the range of 1.3300 to 1.5000 at temperatures from 20 to 30°C by manual (optical-mechanical) or automatic (digital) procedure.

    1.2 The manual (optical-mechanical) procedure also covers the measurement of refractive dispersion accurate to the fourth decimal place or better.

    Note 1The test method may be suitable for measuring the refractive indices of liquids above 1.5000 and at temperatures both below 20°C and above 30°C; however, the test method precision may not apply. Verification of the accuracy of such measurements will depend upon the availability of reliable, certified reference standards that demonstrate the performance of the instrument used under the particular measuring conditions.

    1.3 The test method may not be applicable to liquids that are strongly colored, or that have bubble points so near the test temperature that a reading cannot be obtained before substantial weathering takes place. Liquid color should be limited to No. 4 ASTM Color or lighter, as determined by Test Method D1500.

    1.4 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.5 WARNING—Mercury has been designated by many regulatory agencies as a hazardous material that can cause central nervous system, kidney and liver damage. Mercury, or its vapor, may be hazardous to health and corrosive to materials. Caution should be taken when handling mercury and mercury containing products. See the applicable product Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) for details and EPA’s website—http://www.epa.gov/mercury/faq.htm—for additional information. Users should be aware that selling mercury and/or mercury containing products into your state or country may be prohibited by law.

    1.6  This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D1500 Test Method for ASTM Color of Petroleum Products (ASTM Color Scale)

    D6299 Practice for Applying Statistical Quality Assurance and Control Charting Techniques to Evaluate Analytical Measurement System Performance

    D6300 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias Data for Use in Test Methods for Petroleum Products and Lubricants

    E1 Specification for ASTM Liquid-in-Glass Thermometers


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 71.080.01 (Organic chemicals in general)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/D1218-12

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D1218

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top