ASTM International Board of Directors

    2014-2016 Director

    Claudia V. Kropas-Hughes, Ph.D., is technical adviser in the Program Development and Integration Directorate, part of the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio. The Air Force Life Cycle Management Center is responsible for total life cycle management of U.S. Air Force weapon systems.

    As technical adviser, Kropas-Hughes focuses on future capability requirements and ensuring that advancements in technology are included in systems. Prior to assuming her current role in 2013, Kropas-Hughes had been deputy division chief for the Technology Transition Division at the base Air Force Materiel Command. She joined the staff at Wright-Patterson in 1989 as an electronics engineer and then held other engineering and research positions in the Air Force Research Laboratory before assuming her current role. She previously worked at Aerojet Solid Propulsion Co., McClellan Air Force Base and Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Co.

    A 2011 ASTM Award of Merit recipient and an ASTM fellow, Kropas-Hughes also received the 2004 Charles W. Briggs Award from Committee E07 on Nondestructive Testing for her continuous and outstanding contributions. Kropas-Hughes has been an ASTM member since 1991 and currently serves as chairman of E07 and as vice chairman of Subcommittees E07.01 on Radiology (X and Gamma) Method.

    Kropas-Hughes has been the professional program chair for the American Society for Nondestructive Testing Annual Conference since 2003, organizing more than 100 paper presentations for an international audience, and she has written several papers related to her field. She holds a bachelor’s degree in applied mathematics from Florida Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Florida, a bachelor’s in electrical engineering from the University of Dayton, Ohio, a master’s in electrical engineering from California State University in Sacramento, and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Air Force Institute of Technology, Dayton, Ohio.