ASTM International Board of Directors

    2014-2016 Director

    Andrew G. Kireta Jr. is vice president – market development, at the Copper Development Association Inc., New York, New York, a not-for-profit trade association that serves as the advanced market development and engineering services arm of the copper and brass industry in the United States.

    As CDA vice president, Kireta is responsible for promoting the use of copper and copper alloy systems and related products in both building construction and sustainable energy applications. He coordinates codes and standards activities for the copper industry and research projects for the development and application of copper and copper alloy tube, pipe, fittings and architectural sheet and strip. He also represents the North American copper industry on the International Copper Association’s building construction team, and he leads the ICA’s global strategy team.

    An ASTM member since 1998, Kireta works on Committee B05 on Copper and Copper Alloys and several B05 subcommittees. He previously served as B05 membership secretary and is the current chairman of Subcommittee B05.92 on Awards.

    Following his graduation from Purdue University with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering, Kireta became a principal engineer, mechanical systems and operations, for ABB Impell Corp., Lincolnshire, Illinois. In this position he was involved in commercial nuclear power plant design. In 1992, Kireta joined CDA as Midwest regional manager and held management positions for tube, pipe and fittings, and architectural applications, before becoming vice president – building construction in 2008. He assumed his current role in 2010.,/p>

    Outside ASTM, Kireta is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Plumbing Engineers, the American Society of Sanitary Engineering, the American Welding Society, the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials, the International Code Council and the NSF International Joint Committee on Drinking Water Additives. He has been recognized with the President’s Award from the International Copper Association and the ASTM B05 Copper Club Award.